Areas of Study


The Retention Council’s primary goal is to identify key factors that affect student success and retention within the university community and recommend interventions that address these factors.

The Retention Council, chaired by the University Retention Coordinator, is charged with the following responsibilities:

  • To track student enrollment, retention, and graduation and communicate this progress with the campus community on a regular basis;
  • To use assessment to identify proven best practices in the university community that are effective in ensuring student success and therefore retention;
  • To use assessment to identify potential barriers that impede student success and recommend effective, proactive interventions that address these barriers;
  • To communicate that student success and retention is the responsibility of every member of the campus community and recommend strategies for creating a teaching and learning community for fostering practices that promote successful learning and retention.


This Committee has the following authority:


Name Title / Role
Dr. Thomas Horejes Associate Provost SSAQ – Co-chair
Dr. Elavie Ndura VP of Equity, Diversity & Inclusion -Co-chair
Mr. Travis Imel Interim Dean of Student Affairs – Co-Chair


Name Title / Role
Christi Batamula Assistant Professor/Vice Chair of Faculty Senate
Katherine Giles Bean Associate Director of Athletics
Beth Benedict Executive Director of Undergraduate Admission and Outreach
Lindsay Buchko Director of Institutional Research
Caroline Finklea Vizzuto Research Associate ofInstitutional Research
Jerri Lyn Dorminy Director of Student Success
Luis Uriel Torres Coordinator of Student Success
William Ennis Assistant Professor/Chair of Faculty Senate
Carol Erting Provost
Paige Franklin Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Curriculum
Genie Gertz Dean of CAS
Beth Gibbons Assistant Dean of Graduate School
Susan Hanrahan Director of Residence Life
Astrid Jones Coordinator of Residence Life (First Year Students)
Joshua Miller Coordinator of Residence Life (Second Year Students)
Amanda Jackson Assistant Director of Financial Aid
Mary Keane Director of Campus Activities
Jeffrey Leach Director of Financial Services
Crystal Harris Assistant Director of Student Financial Services
Amy Malm Dean of the Library
Earl Parks Executive Director ofGTS
Jacquelyn Lally Director of eLearning
Elice Patterson Registrar
Khadijat Rashid Dean of SEBHS
Charles Reilly Executive Director of Research Support and International Programs
Mona McCubbin Manager of International Student and Scholar Services
Lawrence Musa Coordinator of Img Comp & Intl Procedures
Caroline Solomon Professor
Elizabeth Stone University Ombuds
Mary Weiner Director of Center for Continuing and Online Education
Gregoire Youbara Lecturer II/Faculty Student Affairs Representative

Updated September 2019

Contact Us

Institutional Effectiveness and Certification

College Hall 410A

(202) 559-5370


By submitting this form, I opt in to receive select information and deaf resources from Gallaudet University via email.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.