Jenny Buechner, ’02

Gallaudet students, faculty, staff, and alumni played a prominent role in the 58th biennial conference of the National Association of the Deaf, held June 30-July 4 in Orlando. Florida.

The Gallaudet University College Bowl team defended its championship on Saturday, July 2, defeating RIT/NTID and the University of Minnesota. This was Gallaudet’s tenth win overall since the competition began in 1988. Congratulations to (from left) Trevor Johnson, Donovan Holmes, Thalia Guettler, and Jonathan Summers, and their coaches, Robert Weinstock, ’76 & G-’83 and Meredith Peruzzi, ’11!

The newly-elected officers and members of the NAD Board of Directors include four Gallaudet alumni: President Jenny Buechner, ’02; Vice President Stephanie Hakulin, ’00; Secretary Milmaglyn Morales, E-’01; and Region 4 Representative Laura Kim, ’02. Michelle Cline was elected to a third term as treasurer. Kevin Ryan was elected Region 2 representative, and Michael Deuel was elected Region 3 representative. They join holdovers Jacob Leffler, ’10 & G-’15, Region 1; Linsay Darnall Jr., E-’93 (Region 3); James “Dino” Christianson Jr. (Region 4); and Tyese Wright, ’02 (Affiliate Representative). Four positions remain vacant and will be filled in the near future.
Jessica Willoughby, ’13, won NAD’s first-ever Pitch Competition.

Recent News

Stay up to date on all the gallaudet happenings, both stories, and initiatives, we are doing with our Signing community!