Every year, the Gallaudet University Alumni Association and its Clerc Cultural Committee recognize individuals or entities for their contributions to the university and the Deaf community. These awards are presented during the annual Charter Day Awards Reception, which this year will be held on Saturday, April 6 from 2 to 5 p.m. at Peikoff Alumni House.  

This year’s GUAA award recipients are: 

Outstanding Young Alumnus Award: Jeremy S. Smith, ’16 
Mr. Smith is being recognized for his powerful and effective advocacy on behalf of the DeafPlus community in Virginia and beyond 

Above and Beyond Award in Honor of Pauline “Polly” Peikoff, E-’36: Lisa McNiven, ’90 
Ms. McNiven is a long-time Deaf community leader in the state of New Mexico and the leading force in the creation of Deaf housing in Albuquerque. 

Advocacy for Social Justice Award in Honor of Gertrude Scott Galloway, ’51, PhD ’93, and H-’02: Dr. Christian Vogler  
Dr. Vogler is a professor and director of the Technology Access Program at Gallaudet University, and a long-time advocate for communications access for members of the Deaf, DeafBlind, and hard of hearing community. 

The Clerc Cultural Committee awards are as follow: 

Award in Art: Yiqiao Wang, ’09 

Ms. Wang, a creative designer in the Motion Light Lab at Gallaudet University, is renowned for her art in public spaces throughout the United States that touches on many themes, including multiculturalism and Asian-America Pacific Islander culture. 

Award in Advocacy: Dr. Michael A. Schwartz 
Dr. Schwartz is  professor and director of the Disability Rights Clinic at Syracuse University College of Law, where he has trained generations of law students and young attorneys in disability advocacy. 

Recent News

Stay up to date on all the gallaudet happenings, both stories, and initiatives, we are doing with our Signing community!