Who We Are
News & Stories
Sep 25, 2023
Sep 22, 2023
September 27, 2023
September 28, 2023
University Wide Events
No Communication Compromises
Areas of Study
Changing the world
Community & Innovation
Research Experiences & Services
Our Global Presence
Global at Home
Global Learning For All
Your Journey Starts Here
Explore Our Campus
Jan 1, 1970
Sep 17, 2023
Aug 31, 2023
Parking and Traffic Informa...
Parking and Traffic Tickets
Carlin Hall Basement
The Department of Public Safety has a fine rubric for speeding cars, reckless driving, wrongful parking, passing a stop sign and other vehicular violations.
Note: the speed limit is 15 miles per hour (mph). The speeding fines listed below are for actual mph driven.
Fines may be paid online, in person or by mail, depending on the payment method. Cash, check, and credit card payments are accepted in the DPS office. Checks may be sent through the mail, but not cash. All payments must reference the violation notice number. Fines not paid within 15 working days will be doubled.
Anyone who receives a citation may file an appeal for reconsideration of the ticket. Appeal forms may be picked up in the Department of Public Safety, or the form can be found online at the DPS website. The appeal must be submitted within seven calendar days from receipt of the violation notice. Appeals filed after seven calendar days are not accepted, and the fine must be paid. The fact that a violation is being appealed is not justification to violate parking and traffic regulations.
Appeals are NOT reviewed or considered when the following reasons are listed:
An appeal will not be considered if the driver has had a previous ticket(s) for the same offense.
If an appeal is not successful, the fine must be paid within 15 working days from receipt of the notification. Fines not paid within 15 working days double. (See Paying a Ticket above.)
Following two reminders regarding an unpaid ticket, if payment is not received, student fines are transferred to Student Financial Services and recorded as a debt to the University, and the vehicle is subject to booting. Following two reminders, vehicles belonging to others are also subject to booting. To remove a boot, there is an $80 fee plus the payment of the unpaid violation(s). Individuals who continue to violate parking and traffic regulations are subject to having their vehicle booted.
If the owner of a vehicle that has been booted for seven calendar days has not made arrangements for the boot to be removed, the vehicle will be towed to an off-campus facility. Vehicles will be removed from University property, without notice, if the vehicle appears to be abandoned or if the owner does not respond to notification to move the vehicle.
The University reserves the right to revoke parking privileges temporarily or permanently if parking and traffic regulations are repeatedly ignored, or if other persons or the operations or resources of the University are placed at risk by the actions of the owner or operator.
Gallaudet University, chartered in 1864, is a private university for deaf and hard of hearing students.
Copyright © 2023 Gallaudet University. All rights reserved.
800 Florida Avenue NE, Washington, D.C. 20002