Areas of Study

Indiana School for the Deaf (Indianapolis, Ind.) won the National Championship Title at the 19th Annual National Academic Bowl for Deaf and Hard and Hearing High School Students hosted by Gallaudet University in Washington, D.C. April 25-27. Over the Academic Bowl’s 19-year history, Indiana School for the Deaf has won a total of three National Championship Titles in 2002, 2008, and 2015 as well as leading all schools with ten top-four finishes.

The Indiana School for the Deaf team was comprised of players Kenneth Peters, Cade Patterson, Raelynn Fuechtmann, and Colton Crace and was coached by Mary Kovatch and Chuck Daube.

Gallaudet University established the

Academic Bowl for deaf and hard of hearing high school students in 1997. The competition consists of a question and answer game of general knowledge and quick recall. Questions are drawn from the following categories: history and government; language and literature; science and technology; geography; mathematics; the arts; deaf studies; current events; and pop culture, leisure, and sports. This year’s tournament hosted 24 deaf and hard of hearing high school teams from around the country. Five regional competitions were held this winter and the first, second, third, and fourth place teams from each region competed in the national competition along with four wild card teams.

Rockville High School (Rockville, Md.) placed in second after being narrowly defeated in the Championship Match, 68-53. Maryland School for the Deaf (Frederick, Md.), which only lost its Semifinal Match by one point, triumphed in the Third Place Match by a margin of 60-37. Claiming fourth place was Monroe #1 BOCES (Fairport, N.Y.).

“The Academic Bowl provides deaf and hard of hearing high school students with an amazing opportunity to test their knowledge, network with peers from around the country, as well as visit our beautiful campus,” said Jesse Saunders, Associate Director, Youth Programs and Outreach. “The students put a tremendous amount of effort into studying and practicing for this competition throughout the school year. Even though only one team can take home the National Championship Title, every team leaves a winner and their hard work and dedication must be celebrated.”

The National Competition also includes superlative awards. Mountain Lakes High School and Taft Charter High School won the Sportsmanship Awards. Tayla Newman, a senior from the Maryland School for the Deaf, won the Most Outstanding Player award.

The All-Stars included: Brittany Morris, a senior from W.T. Woodson High School; Nikolya Sereda, a senior from EDCO @ Newtown North High School; Henry Jennings, a junior from Taft Charter High School; Steven Putz, a junior from Hinsdale South High School; Kenneth Peters, a senior from Indiana School for the Deaf; Raelyn Fuechtmann, a senior from Indiana School for the Deaf; Phelan Conheady, a sophomore from Monroe #1 BOCES; and Bryan Yun, a sophomore from Rockville High School. Rockville High School coaches Steve Mather and Jenna Hubble were named Coaches of the Tournament.

Gallaudet University, federally chartered in 1864, is a bilingual, diverse, multicultural institution of higher education that ensures the intellectual and professional advancement of deaf and hard of hearing individuals through American Sign Language and English. Gallaudet maintains a proud tradition of research and scholarly activity and prepares its graduates for career opportunities in a highly competitive, technological, and rapidly changing world.

Kaitlin Luna
Coordinator of Media and Public Relations

Recent News

Stay up to date on all the gallaudet happenings, both stories, and initiatives, we are doing with our Signing community!