In 2002, the National competition was expanded to 10 teams which meant the top two teams from each Regional competition was invited to the National competition. The Most Outstanding Player was also awarded for the first time with Tim Woodford winning the first ever MOP award.

Number of Regional Teams: 62

Number of National Teams: 10

National Competition Teams:

California School for the Deaf, Riverside (West)
Florida School for the Deaf and Blind (Southeast)
Indiana School for the Deaf (Midwest)
La Follette High School (Midwest)
Louisiana School for the Deaf (Southeast)
Model Secondary School for the Deaf (Mid-Atlantic)
Monroe #1 BOCES (Northeast)
Rockville High School (Mid-Atlantic)
University High School (West)
Webster School District (Northeast)

National Championship match:

Florida SDB defeated University HS

Third Place match:

Rockville HS defeated Indiana SD

Most Outstanding Player:

Tim Woodford, Senior, Florida SDB

Florida SDB Championship Team Roster:

Alex Abenchuchan
Hardy Parker
Amanda Willard
Tim Woodford

Florida SDB

History of the National Academic Bowl for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing

The National Academic Bowl for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing was established in 1996 under the guidance of Astrid Amann Goodstein, who was then the Executive Director of Enrollment Services at Gallaudet. That year, only six schools participated in what was considered a competition...

Academic Bowl

Resource Type: History

Contact Us

Academic Bowl

Peet Hall 412

(202) 651-5000

9:00 am-5:00 pm
9:00 am-5:00 pm
9:00 am-5:00 pm
9:00 am-5:00 pm
9:00 am-5:00 pm

Select what best describes your relationship to Gallaudet University so we can effectively route your email.
By submitting this form, I opt in to receive select information and deaf resources from Gallaudet University via email.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.