Who We Are
News & Stories
May 25, 2023
May 18, 2023
June 24, 2023
June 29, 2023
August 20, 2023
University Wide Events
No Communication Compromises
Areas of Study
Changing the world
Community & Innovation
Research Experiences & Services
Our Global Presence
Global at Home
Global Learning For All
Your Journey Starts Here
Tools and Resources
Explore Our Campus
Jun 1, 2023
National Deaf Life Museum
Campus landmarks you won’t want to miss
Built in 1870, Chapel Hall was once the main hub of the university, serving as a chapel, auditorium, exhibit center, and dining hall. This picturesque High Victorian Gothic building is on the National Park Service National Register of Historic Places.
Completed in 1877, College Hall was the main academic building and dormitory for male students. This is now the main administration building.
Edward Miner Gallaudet Residence
Also known as House one, this 35-room Victorian Gothic mansion was built in 1869 for the university’s first president, Edward Miner Gallaudet.
Peikoff Alumni House
When this gymnasium, affectionately known as “‘Ole Jim,” was built in 1881, it was considered one of the finest in the nation and boasted what is possibly the first indoor swimming pool in the country.
Thomas Hopkins Gallaudet and Alice Cogswell statue
One of the early works of renowned sculptor Daniel Chester French, this statue depicting the special bond between teacher and student that revolutionized deaf education around the world, was a gift from the National Association of the Deaf in 1889.
In 1856, Amos Kendall, a postmaster general during two presidential administrations, donated two acres of his estate in northeast Washington, D.C. to establish a school and housing for 12 deaf and six blind students. The following year, Kendall persuaded Congress to incorporate the new school,...
Resource Type: History
The Edward Miner Gallaudet Residence, also known as House One, is a 35-room Victorian Gothic mansion that was built in 1869 for Gallaudet University's founder and first president, Edward Miner Gallaudet. Gallaudet, his successors, and their families have lived in this home. Watch this trailer...
Built in 1870, Chapel Hall was once the main hub of the university, serving as a chapel, auditorium, exhibit center, and dining hall. Chapel Hall is on the National Park Service (NPS) National Register of Historic Places. According to the NPS, "Chapel Hall is one...
Gallaudet University, chartered in 1864, is a private university for deaf and hard of hearing students.
Copyright © 2023 Gallaudet University. All rights reserved.
800 Florida Avenue NE, Washington, D.C. 20002