The Council on Graduate Education consists of:

  • One member from each department with one or more graduate programs
  • One member from each interdisciplinary program offering a graduate degree
  • One member representing all graduate interdisciplinary certificate programs
    • Members are elected by their department/program and approved by the University Faculty. Nominees for membership must have primary responsibility at the graduate level. At least one-third of the membership shall be composed of tenured faculty.

      Council Chair

      • Danielle Hunt, Interpretation and Translation (2019-2022)

      Council Committees

      • Curriculum Subcommittee
      • Policy Subcommittee
      • Student Concerns Subcommittee
        • Committee Members

          • Audrey Cooper, International Development (2020-2023)
          • Teresa Crowe, Social Work (2019-2022)
          • Lori Day, Psychology (2019-2022)
          • Raychelle Harris, American Sign Language (2019-2022)
          • Jim McCann, Hearing, Speech, Language Sciences (2020-2023)
          • Erin Moriarty Harrelson, Deaf Studies (2020-2023)
          • Lorna Quandt, Education Neuroscience (2019-2022)
          • Miako Villanueva, Linguistics (2019-2022)
          • Geoffrey Whitebread, Government and Public Affairs (2019-2022)
          • Cheryl Wu, Counseling (2020-2023)
          • Christina Yuknis, Education (2018-2021)

          The council also includes non-voting members from the Dean’s Office, Graduate Admissions Office, Registrar’s Office, and the Graduate Student Association.

          Council Policies

          • The council shall elect a chairperson from its tenured membership who shall also serve as a member of the Faculty Senate.
          • The council shall submit a report of its actions in writing to the Faculty Senate chair, at least 14 calendar days before each regularly scheduled Senate meeting.
          • At the beginning of each academic year, the chair shall contact the President of the Graduate Student Association and request that one graduate student be appointed to serve on the Faculty Senate for a period of one year. Student participation is on a non-voting, advisory basis. Due to the nature of specific agenda items, the student may be excused from participation at the council’s discretion.
          • The council shall meet as often as necessary to conduct its business.

Contact Us

Council on Graduate Education

Fowler Hall 210

Select what best describes your relationship to Gallaudet University so we can effectively route your email.
By submitting this form, I opt in to receive select information and deaf resources from Gallaudet University via email.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.